APR 1 + 3


Savor music performed with renewed vitality by the H+H Orchestra. The Overture of J.S.’s buoyant Orchestral Suite No. 1 leads into a set of elegant dances, while C.P.E.‘s ecstatic Magnificat features festive trumpets and drums that infuse this masterpiece with sparkling life. Our exceptional Chorus also shines in Vivaldi’s sunny Gloria, with conductor Jonathan Cohen contributing his passion for Baroque jewels, honed at Quebec’s Les Violons du Roy and London’s Arcangelo. Listen for the rapturous “Domine Deus” movement of Vivaldi’s beloved masterwork.


Symphony Hall

View Seating Chart


Friday, April 1, 2022 at 7:30PM (Best Seating Available)
Sunday, April 3, 2022 at 3:00PM


J.S. Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 1, BWV 1066
Vivaldi: Gloria, RV 589
C.P.E. Bach: Magnificat

Performed by

Jonathan Cohen, conductor
Amanda Forsythe, soprano*
Jennifer Johnson Cano, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Phan, tenor
Tyler Duncan, baritone
H+H Orchestra and Chorus

* We regret to announce that soprano Joélle Harvey has been forced to withdraw from this week’s performances due to illness. We are pleased that soprano Amanda Forsythe has graciously agreed to take her place at the last minute.

Concert Length

The concert runs 2 hour 10 minutes including a 20 minute intermission.

Program Book

Read all about this concert’s music and musicians in the program book.
View the Program Book





Vivaldi: Gloria in excelsis deo from Gloria
Handel and Haydn Society
Harry Christophers, conductor

CPE Bach: Magnificat anima mea from Magnificat
Jonathan Cohen, conductor