OCT 8 + 10


Let’s all agree: Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons is one of classical music’s greatest hits. And yet, when you hear it played “the H+H way” – with the cobwebs wiped away and all its freshness, sparkle, and exuberance on full display, you’ll feel like you’re hearing it for the first time. As soloist and leader, Aisslinn Nosky’s virtuosity is guaranteed to dazzle.

Also, the live concert premiere of Jonathan Woody’s new suite on themes by the remarkable Charles Ignatius Sancho (1729-1780), who was born on a ship carrying enslaved people, escaped slavery, and became the first person of African descent to vote in a British election and to publish classical music. Read our Q+A with the composer, Jonathan Woody, to get a behind-the-scenes view of this new work.

To get things started, we’ll open with classic festivity and celebration: selections from Handel’s effervescent Water Music.


Symphony Hall

View Seating Chart


Friday, October 8, 2021 at 7:30PM
Sunday, October 10, 2021 at 3:00PM


Handel: Selections from Water Music
Jonathan Woody: Suite for Orchestra after the works of Charles Ignatius Sancho
Vivaldi: The Four Seasons

Performed by

Aisslinn Nosky, violin and leader
H+H Orchestra

Concert Length

90 minutes, including intermission

Musically Speaking Concert Preview

Learn more about Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons and hear the answers to the questions you’ve always wanted to know about this effervescent Baroque favorite, with Aisslinn Nosky, concertmaster, Teresa Neff, Hogwood Historically Informed Performance Fellow, and Emily Marvosh, host.

Watch Now

Program Book

Read all about this concert’s music and musicians in the program book.

View the Program Book


Vivaldi: “Winter” from The Four Seasons
Aisslinn Nosky, violin
Handel and Haydn Society

Handel: Variation 1 from Water Music
Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Philharmonia Baroque

Jonathan Woody: Suite for Orchestra after the works of Charles Ignatius Sancho
Handel and Haydn Society