Musically Speaking Concert Previews

Livestreams

Before each concert in our 2021-22 Season, we invite you to join us for a series of livestreams led by H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, Teresa Neff. In these Concert Previews, Teresa and guest musicians will uncover the history of the composers, works, and instruments featured in each concert.


Artistic Director Harry Christophers

Haydn The Creation

Monday, April 25, 2022

During this Concert Preview, learn about the music from our performance of Haydn's The Creation. Anthony Trecek-King hosts this preview, with a focus on the use of wind instruments in Haydn's masterpiece. Damian Primis, our contrabassoonist, and bassoonist Kate van Orden, join as the panelists - don't miss the chance to learn more about this enormous instrument!

Watch Now

Bach + Vivaldi Gloria

Monday, March 28, 2022

During this Concert Preview, learn about the music from our performance of Bach + Vivaldi Gloria on April 1 + 3, 2022. Our panelists will dive into the masterworks being presented during the performance and give insights from inside of the Orchestra!

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, will be joined by Sarah Freiberg, cello, and Nate Helgeson, bassoon.

Watch Now

man playing a piano

Bach Brandenburg Concertos

Monday, January 31, 2022

During this Concert Preview, learn about the music from our performance of Bach's Brandenburg Concertos on February 4 + 5 + 6, 2022. Our panelists will delve into the history surrounding these incredibly popular works and will give you insight into what it's like to perform these masterworks.

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, will be joined by H+H principal musicians - Guy Fishman, cello, and Ian Watson, keyboard.

Watch Now

conductor

Haydn + Mozart

Tuesday, January 25, 2022

During this Concert Preview, learn about the music from our Haydn + Mozart performance on January 28 + 30, 2022, with a special focus on Haydn's Symphony No. 103, Drum Roll, and the namesake instrument of this Symphony - the timpani!

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, will be joined by H+H principal musicians - Jonathan Hess, timpani, and Heather Miller Lardin, bass.

Watch Now

male conductor

Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Tuesday, January 4, 2022

During this Concert Preview, learn about the music from our Beethoven Symphony No. 7 performance on January 7 + 9, 2022, with a special focus on the use of horns in each of the works on the concert's program.

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, will be joined by two members of the H+H horn section - Todd Williams, principal, and Elisabeth Axtell.

Watch Now

three woman playing the violin

Bach Christmas

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

During this Concert Preview, learn about the celebratory cantata by JS Bach, Unser Mund sei voll Lachens (“May our Mouth be Full of Laughter”), to be performed during our Bach Christmas concerts on December 3 + 4 + 5. Beautiful arias, especially supported by the violins and oboes, bring the Christmas story to life.

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, join two of H+H's principal orchestral musicians - concertmaster Aisslinn Nosky and principal oboe Debra Nagy. This panel of star musicians and scholars are ready to answer your questions - ask them live during the livestream!

Watch Now

conductor

Handel Messiah

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

During this Concert Preview, learn about H+H's 207-year history with Messiah and hear insights about the piece from the musicians who bring it to life today.

Anthony Trecek-King, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, join two of the incredible soloists from this season's Messiah performance: countertenor Reginald Mobley and tenor James Way.

Watch Now

Laurence Equilbey conducting

Beethoven Symphony No. 6

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

During this concert preview, H+H musicians share insights about the music on our upcoming performance of Beethoven Symphony No. 6, Pastoral and Farrenc Symphony No. 3.

Emily Marvosh, host, and Teresa Neff, H+H's Historically Informed Performance Fellow, join H+H principal wind players: Emi Ferguson (flute) and Eric Hoeprich (clarinet), to discuss Farrenc's notable writing for winds in her Symphony No. 3.

Watch Now

Concertmaster Aisslinn Nosky

Vivaldi The Four Seasons

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Learn about Vivaldi's The Four Seasons and hear the answers to the questions you've always wanted to know about this effervescent Baroque favorite. You'll have the "A" team lined up and ready to share their insights and enthusiasm.

Watch Now

X